Movies and More - Librarian Recommended Websites

DVD Talk
Site offers DVD, Theatrical and Video Games reviews.

Hulu
Disney recently reached an agreement with Hulu, adding ABC TV shows and Disney films to the popular online entertainment service.

Parent Previews
Family-oriented movie reviews, rates the violence, sexual content, language and drugs/alcohol in upcoming movies, movies in the theaters, recently released DVDs and video games. Formerly know as Grading the Movies.

Rotten Tomatoes
Site offers movie reviews and searches for theaters showing the latest films.

VideoETA
Find out when movies and TV shows are due for release on DVD and the latest industry news.

Links to Local Resources

KC Stage Online
One Hundred Theatres...One Source
What's on stage in Kansas City? Visit KC Stage and find out!

Tivoli Cinema
Tivoli Cinema located in Westport, is one of the few theaters in Kansas City consistently showing challenging, independent foreign and American films.

H&R Block City Stage
City Stage offers day and evening live performances of dramas, comedies and musicals.

Regnier Extreme Screen
The Regnier Extreme Screen theater is five stories tall and over 75 fee wide. It uses state-of-the art technology to let you not just watch a movie, but experience it.

Kansas International Film Festival
The Kansas International Film Festival showcases local, regional, and national works, recognizes visiting filmmakers and screen personalities, and strives to increase public awareness of independent and classic cinema as a cultural, economic, and educational asset. The 8th Annual Kansas International Film Festival is Sept. 19-25, 2008.

Media Ratings

Statement of Endorsement

The Olathe Public Library and its staff does not endorse or promote any specific rating system for any type of media regardless of content or audience. The library encourages all patrons to educate themselves as completely as they feel is necessary to make sound judgments regarding their use, and the use of those for whom they are responsible, of materials found within the library. To that end, the following list of rating and review sites are supplied for purely informational purposes. Recommended additions to this list may be made to any staff member of the library or by providing the necessary information via our online comments and suggestions form here.

Video Game Ratings

ESRB-- The Entertainment Software Rating Board (ESRB) is a non-profit, self-regulatory body established in 1994 by the Entertainment Software Association (ESA). ESRB assigns computer and video game content ratings, enforces industry-adopted advertising guidelines and helps ensure responsible online privacy practices for the interactive entertainment software industry.

Film Ratings

MPAA-- The Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) and its international counterpart, the Motion Picture Association (MPA) serve as the voice and advocate of the American motion picture, home video and television industries, domestically through the MPAA and internationally through the MPA. Today, these associations represent not only the world of theatrical film, but serve as leader and advocate for major producers and distributors of entertainment programming for television, cable, home video and future delivery systems not yet imagined.

Music Ratings

RIAA-- The Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) is the trade group that represents the U.S. recording industry. Its mission is to foster a business and legal climate that supports and promotes our members' creative and financial vitality. Its members are the record companies that comprise the most vibrant national music industry in the world.

Online Library Databases

Library databases may be accessed with your library card number and PIN. Most of these databases may be accessed from home; however, some are only available within the library.

Kansas City Star plus Kansas Newspapers Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, politics and government, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements excluded. Newspapers in the collection are Kansas City Star, Emporia Gazette, Lawrence Journal-World, Manhattan Mercury, Topeka Capital-Journal, and Wichita Eagle. Library and Home use.

Newspaper Source Provides selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, and The Washington Post. Also contains selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including, The Chicago Tribune, and The Kansas City Star. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc Library and home use.