Literature - Librarian Recommended Websites

Shakespeare

Shakespeare Resource Center--An excellent, expansive collection of resources on William Shakespeare.

Complete Works of William Shakespeare--Shakespeare's complete works available online as complete plays or on a scene by scene basis.

Mythology

Encyclopedia Mythica --An award-winning internet encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and religion. Here you will find everything from A-gskw to Zveda Vechanyaya, with plenty in between.

Joseph Campbell Foundation--A group founded in the spirit of the author of many great works of mythological study including The Hero with a Thousand Faces and The Power of Myth.

Poetry

Academy of American Poets-- Comprehensive site searchable by poems or poets, and it also features information about National Poetry Month as well as awards, essays, exhibits, news, programs, and more.

American Verse Project - A searchable archive of pre-1920 American poetry.

Sonnet Central An archive of english sonnets and commentary.

Local Literary Events

Kansas City Big Read 2012 (stay tuned for more info!)

Other Sites

Project Gutenberg--An ever-growing collection of texts that have fallen out of copyright and into the public domain.

SparkNotes - Features online study guides similar to Cliffs Notes.

Works Cited 4 You - Formats bibliographies for students and researchers.

 

Online Library Databases

Library databases may be accessed with your library card number and PIN. Most of these databases may be accessed from home; however, some are only available within the library.

Literature Resource Center

Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combining Gale Group's core literary databases in a single online service, the Literature Resource Center covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Library and home use.