What is the order of the books in the Chronicles of Narnia series?  This may seem like a simple question, but it's actually a bit complicated.  There are two different answers that could both be correct. The books were published in the following order:lionwtichwardrobe.jpg
  1. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
  2. Prince Caspian
  3. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader
  4. The Silver Chair
  5. The Horse and His Boy
  6. The Magician's Nephew
  7. The Last Battle
Originally the books were numbered in the order of publication, but when C.S. Lewis wrote The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, he didn't know there were going to be any more books in the series.  Next he wrote the sequel, Prince Caspian, and then later on he wrote a prequel, The Magician's Nephew.  The entire series wasn't planned out ahead of time. In 1994 the publisher began numbering the books in the order of the story, not the order of publication.  The chronological order of the story is as follows:
  1. The Magician's Nephew
  2. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
  3. The Horse and His Boy
  4. Prince Caspian
  5. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader
  6. The Silver Chair
  7. The Last Battle
So depending on which edition of the books you look at, you may find the titles listed in different order.  C.S. Lewis himself said, "The series was not planned beforehand . . . so perhaps it does not matter very much in which order anyone reads them."  The new Narnia movies seem to be following the order in which Lewis originally wrote them.  Have you read the entire series?  Send us a comment and tell us which order you recommend.