It's award season again in the world of children's literature.  The 2008 Newbery and Caldecott Award winners have been announced, and here they are:

goodmasters.jpgNewbery Award Winner
     Good Masters! Sweet Ladies!
     Voices from a Medieval Village

     by Laura Amy Schlitz






Newbery Honor Books
     Elijah of Buxton by Christopher Paul Curtis
     The Wednesday Wars by Gary D. Schmidt
     Feathers by Jacqueline Woodson

inventionofhugocabret.jpgCaldecott Award Winner
     The Invention of Hugo Cabret
by Brian Selznick







Caldecott Honor Books
     Henry's Freedom Box illustrated by Kadir Nelson & written by Ellen Levine
     First the Egg by Laura Vaccaro Seeger
     The Wall by Peter Sis
     Knuffle Bunny Too by Mo Willems

And here are the winners of the Coretta Scott King Awards:

Coretta Scott King Award Winner for Author
     Elijah of Buxton by Christopher Paul Curtis

Coretta Scott King Honor Books for Author
     November Blues by Sharon Draper
     Twelve Rounds to Glory by Charles R. Smith, Jr.

Coretta Scott King Award Winner for Illustrator
     Let It Shine: Three Favorite Spirituals by Ashley Bryan

Coretta Scott King Honor Books for Illustrator
     The Secret Olivia Told Me illustrated by Nancy Devard & written by N. Joy
     Jazz on a Saturday Night illustrated by Diane Dillon & written by Leo Dillon